pre-album teaser (2009) review – 1833 AD

Being the biggest black metal fan alive I feel cursed when I have absolutely no Indian black metal releases to look forward to. Expecting a release is a little to much I am asking for as there aren’t any black metal acts around. Barring a few who try there is not much of an impact, not much of a following. I wouldn’t mind a less black metal following but a couple of tight acts could very well complete the circle.

Enter 1833 AD. A Delhi-band which doesn’t just claim to play black metal but justifies the genre. They are like hair on a just-shaved surface. Please laugh. First heard their track Silver about an year back. Wanted more but there was no news.

1833 AD having been around since 2004 haven’t made it big and I personally feel the only reason being their relatively low presence on the gigging scene as their music kicks ass. Consisting of 4 members with Nishant Abraham on vocals/guitars, Rahul on guitars, Sushmit on bass and Shashank on the throne, 1833 AD is just what a sucker for melodic black metal like me wanted.

Influenced heavily by Norwegian black metal I did not require any other reason to atleast check them out. After all, I have been dependent on Norwegian metal for almost everything, more on that some other time.

This 4-teaser they came out with includes tracks from their upcoming full-length My Dark Symphony. What do I infer from these tracks – black metal in their distinctive style, and it doesn’t take the charm away one bit, whether it is the dark but intensely melodic guitar riffs or the orgasmic drumming, and the neat bass-work. Did I not mention the vocals ? – something you have not come across before. Unique. What Nishant is possessed by to produce such rasped vocals is still unknown. They do not borrow their music from their influences and yet are inspired. Hear them and you’ll know why.

Out of the 4 tracks, the most recent one Inheritance Evil is without doubt their best till date and My Dark Symphony is going to get 1833 AD its due. Recording wise I see complete justice being done. For an Indian metal band their sound is one of the best I have come across.

This release is going to be important for the country’s black metal scene as it has to start somewhere. From the capital city, so be it.

If you are into black metal you have to check out 1833 AD without any expectations (obviously) and you are up for a big pleasant surprise.

Moral – It takes just 4 Indians to create black metal.

Also read :

album review : Demonic Resurrection – The Return To Darkness

gig review : Deccan Rock Festival 2009

Cruptus – a nefarious tribute to Kryptos

About Itihas Shetty

Is a verbomaniac. And a human being. And that's where the problem begins. View all posts by Itihas Shetty

15 responses to “pre-album teaser (2009) review – 1833 AD

  • grasshopper

    M waiting so anxiously fr this man…
    Its like am holding my cum…
    Wen is it finally coming out?

  • Gaurav singh

    Yea, precisely their previews are mindblowing , waiting for the band to hit the gigging scene \m/

  • gig review : Black Metal Krieg (December, 2010) « Absurd History

    […] were all waiting for Delhi-based  1833 AD. Having earned quite a name for the kind of songs they make and being my personal favorites, […]

  • Hordyk

    Appreciate all the information here

  • Barry Pantaleo

    I was examining some of your blog posts on this internet site and I think this website is very informative ! Keep on posting .

  • Sophie

    What youre saying is absolutely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the pictures you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

  • reight

    Aw, this was a really great post. In theory I’d like to write like this also – taking time and real effort to make a good post… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and never seem to get something done.

  • dru

    Man I love your post and it is so fabulous and I am gonna save it. One thing to say the Superb analysis this article has is truly remarkable. Who goes that extra mile these days? Well Done.. Just one more tip you should install a Translator for your Global Audience!

  • Gimlin

    I’m always searching for stuff about topics that I do not know about, even though it might be old news. It is hard to search things that you do not know of, because what do you look for? 😉 Your site was the type of thing I love to read about on something new to me. Great post! Thanks.

  • Praca Dobra

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  • Sukienka Na Wesele

    Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  • Chiaminto

    I like your blog plain and simple. Keep up the great work and I will keep coming back.

  • Sad

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

Go ahead, feel important

