album review : Koloss (2012) – Meshuggah

album : Koloss

artist : Meshuggah

genre : Technical Post-Thrash Metal

year : 2012

Having the power to make music the way Meshuggah does can never make any other metal band feel less awesome because nobody wants to make music like Meshuggah. It’s a matter of taste, and the five-piece Swedish musicians cater to one sub-portion of a portion of metal. I could not narrow it down more. Brilliance is one word I’d thrown in to describe their compositions, and they are brilliant in a list that features only them. There is no competition.

With Meshuggah, one only sat and praised as to how the drummer did what he did on a few songs or how the vocalist performed his growls at an odd timing, or how the guitarists play such complicated music with their simple instruments. But at the end of the day this isn’t a solo project you see. It’s a band. A metal band. None of their previous releases had all the qualities of metal, neither did they get you to move. Same is the case with Koloss. Only this time the band has managed some ‘complete’ songs.

I’ve heard people say that Cannibal Corpse can get to you, in a bad way, after you’ve heard their stuff for a while. I was also told how unbearable it becomes a couple of songs later. And the nasty things people say about black metal need not be written here. Well fuck you and your taste. At least I can clearly remember the pain caused by the migraine I caught during Meshuggah‘s show in Pune, India. Before you jump to any kind of conclusions this ain’t about getting even or anything, because I never mentioned that the people who said all that about Corpse or black metal are Meshuggah fans. It’s just that Meshuggah make lifeless music which is not appealing.

Even though Meshuggah is tricky, confusing music, one-of-a-kind and all, how can one enjoy their music is beyond me. Koloss is not like a must listen or anything, and even with it’s own moments intact, I suggest you jump into this territory only if you’ve got the buds to enjoy it lest you end up with a headache. Meshuggah means crazy is another language and they really drive you there. Mission accomplished, guys!

Rating : 2.5/5

About Itihas Shetty

Is a verbomaniac. And a human being. And that's where the problem begins. View all posts by Itihas Shetty

17 responses to “album review : Koloss (2012) – Meshuggah

  • Your biggest fan.

    Itihas, you’re clearly a man of limited musical understanding which is well reflected in your pathetic attempts at what no one in their right mind would loosely describe as a ‘review’. If you don’t get a band, don’t review it. Obviously you can, but then that just reflects on your lack of intelligence even more and makes you look bad br0. Just saying. Meshuggah wrote some insanely catchy music back in the day, and have sadly churned out a pisspot of an album, but that does not entitle scum like you do dismiss them this lightly. Then again, you’re sadly a representative of the average Indian metalhead, so have fun with getting your dick sucked by those.

    P.S – Tere grammar ko bol kamathipura thoda kam jaya kare, bohot jyada chudke aata hai waha se.

    • Itihas Shetty

      Itihas, you’re clearly a man of limited musical understanding which is well reflected in your pathetic attempts at what no one in their right mind would loosely describe as a ‘review’.

      Chutiye, my understanding of music is enough to crush you and your next seven generations. So, let me not comment on that.

      If you don’t get a band, don’t review it.

      I’m not sorry that I don’t like your favorite band, but I have been fair in explaining why they aren’t metal. So, fuck you.

      but that does not entitle scum like you do dismiss them this lightly.

      I do not care whether something makes me look bad, you feel me poser?

      Then again, you’re sadly a representative of the average Indian metalhead,

      Oh yes, I am. So you consider yourself an elite metalhead, do you? Chal phut chutiye!

      so have fun with getting your dick sucked by those.

      I love getting my dick sucked, don’t you retard?

      P.S – Tere grammar ko bol kamathipura thoda kam jaya kare, bohot jyada chudke aata hai waha se.

      Grammar? What about the grammar? Explain. Chal chod, abe fattu apna naam to bata. I have a feeling I know you. LOL.

      Me and a friend were at the Meshuggah concert that happened in Pune, and both of us have been listening to metal even before you were born, kid. We got so fucking bored and our head hurt till the next morning. Anyways, I have heard their discography, they are good musicians but just being different does not guarantee that a band is entertaining. They are boring at what they do and this feeling is shared by most of the people I know. I’m referring to people who genuinely appreciate music. Abhi dekh kya raha hai, chal nikal!

    • Itihas Shetty

      And about the email id that you have specified – terimaanetujhepaidakyukiya@gmail.com, abe chakke teri tarah teri maa ke pallu ke peeche chup ke to comment nahin karta main. Gaand mein dum nahin aur bak-bak karta hai, saala jhantu.

      • Your biggest fan.

        Haha, look at you go, I seem to have hit a nerve there. Our spheres do not intersect, you retard. You don’t know me and hopefully I’ll never have to make an acquaintance out of a mediocre personality such as yours. Have fun wallowing in the filth you think are your friends who ‘understand’ music. Meshuggah isn’t my favourite band, and never was. As for getting dicks sucked, I prefer attractive women doing the job, not overgrown feminine schoolboys pretending to be metalheads. Since you would have me take apart your review, here we go.

        ‘Meshuggah makes lifeless music which is not appealing’ – Says a guy who thinks everything Varg does is a landmark in metal.

        ‘Even though Meshuggah is tricky, confusing music, one-of-a-kind and all, how can one enjoy their music is beyond me.’ – Exactly, it is beyond you, so don’t dismiss the music as lifeless if you can’t even begin to understand it.

        ‘None of their previous releases had all the qualities of metal, neither did they get you to move.’ – Yeah, considering that they’ve managed to influence more progressive bands than there is grey matter in your CNS, your statement is SO TOTALLY VALID RITE!

        ‘Having the power to make music the way Meshuggah does can never make any other metal band feel less awesome because nobody wants to make music like Meshuggah.’ – They’ve spawned an entire sub-genre, you fool. And then you mention they cater to a ‘sub portion of metal fans’, contradicting your own statements. You manage that throughout, and most of the second paragraph doesn’t make sense to any person with a fair grasp on logic.

        Don’t get me wrong, you’re probably a nice guy who gives food to the homeless and all that, but you can’t write a consistent, non-contradictory review for balls. Please, there is time. Stop.

        • Itihas Shetty

          Seem to have hit a nerve? Hahaha, what a joker! What rubbish have you written in the first paragraph, man? You didn’t make any sense there. Anyways, I don’t give a fuck. There, you got your answer. I’m busy but thanks for the entertainment. And Varg’s music is not for dimwits like you. That is all.

          You still haven’t revealed your identity, pussycat. Nevermind.

  • Arun

    hey Itihas, who is this looser man ……ha ha ha its nice when you come across some attention seekers like this ….God was not kind to this poser …..:P

  • Epicenter Six

    I never got Meshuggah. All I hear is CHUG-CHUG-CHUG or some variance of that. Yet, people claim they are the pinnacle of technical metal. There music just bores the living shit out of me and makes me go take a nap. That, and the vocalist has always suck for me. Absolutely no range.

    • Itihas Shetty

      Welcome to the party, we are a lot of people on this side. Vocalist Tomas Haake is energetic, but pale. Meshuggah, according to me, is not metal. And of course they are boring. *yawn*

      • Epicenter Six

        Thanks. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who disliked Meshuggah.

        Personally, I would put them in the metal category. Just not the category everyone else puts them in. I would put them in the Breakdown-core bands alongside Emmure and other such acts that chugs all day long.

        And for the record, I happen to like most “djent” (I hate that word) bands. They happen to take steps to make them different from each other. Only popular Djent band I don’t like is Vildjarta (Or however you say it). They just come across as a Meshuggah ripoff band to me.

        • Itihas Shetty

          Good for you, bro. The whole djent thing never encourages me to invest my time in it. But then I have a thing for core bands, both metalcore and hardcore, which again have their own set of haters. To each his own then. Its all about finding your comfort zone.

          • Epicenter Six

            Ah, haters. They are everywhere. I, personally, hate almost no genre of metal (except crunkcore. That genre is a abomination). Hell, I can even enjoy crabcore every once in a while if I’m in the mood. I just hate bad bands.

            I’m also a huge fan of electronica such as Celldweller, Blue Stahli, and The Luna Sequence. I naturally take a liking to Industrial bands such as Sybreed and Mnemic. Especially Sybreed.

            • Itihas Shetty

              I love music, and everything about it man. Cannot imagine my life without music. Everything else in life just came and left, everything is temporary, but music always stayed by my side, so its a special bond.

              I haven’t heard of crunkcore and crabcore, but thanks to you I’ll introduce myself to these genres as well. Very honestly I could never digest rap. Not that I hate it, but I can’t hear it too. And electronica is not too far up on my list of genres that turn me off. It features just above rap.

              The term Industrial instantly reminds me of Samael. I’d highly recommend their discography.

              • Siddharth

                Well the only Meshhuggah song I like is WAR from rare trax……and that’s all and may be cyanide christ……..I was actually binge drinking with the MNEMNIC bassist when Messhhuggah were doing their bit……never found their music very interesting…honestly believe it is an acquired taste. Am gorging on UTILITARIAN by NAPALMDEATH these days (do a review if you can but its been 3 months since that album was released…one word….the pommies are relentless in their grindcore business)…..am actually waiting for AT THE GATES OF SETHU by NILE to be released on July 3rd. Heard GOD SPEED DEVIL’S THUNDER by COF……..usual stuff but really sick as it’s based on Giles De Reis who’s one of the sickest pervert in the french history……but is good a listen.

                • Itihas Shetty

                  Likewise, Siddharth. Nile will bash every poser’s face hard with ‘At the Gate of Sethu’. I’ve still got to hear Napalm Death’s ‘Utilitarian’ with an intention to review it because I heard it only once till now, and I liked it.

                  You did tell me about the concept behind ‘Godspeed on the Devil’s Thunder’, and the album was a bummer.

  • Epicenter Six

    Agree about music. Without it, my left would be pretty damn dull. It provides entertainment and their is such a variety of it. Jazz, Metal, Electronica, Country, Bluegrass, etc. It’s limitless.

    Let me say right now that you will hate both Crunkcore and Crabcore. Crabcore is define by the mixture of core and autotune clean vocaks. You will almost always see them doing a type of Dance move that reseambles a crab. The forefather of this particular genre is Attack! Attack!.

    Crunkcore is the combination of both crunk and netal elements to resemble something not even remotely good. Examples include BrokenCYDE and Hollywood Undead.

    Electronica is a intresting genre although there are certain thing that make it are to say your a fan sometimes. Specifically the explosion of Dubstep, the art of making weird-ass sounds. I highly recommend the three groups I mention above and Voicians. All of them are great examples of good Electronica.

    Rap. I’ll be honest be honest, most of today’s rap suck. Hard. But, there are some good rap every now and then. I would recommend cunninlynguists for yap done right. Best rap album of 2011.

    I’ve never heard of Samael. I’ll look up some of there stuff on youtube when I get the chance.

    • Itihas Shetty

      I hope I’m able to gather enough time to hear at least one album by each of the artists you’ve mentioned. So many promos in my inbox that I’m unable to devote time to even the most exciting upcoming metal releases. Day job that can never make you happy, then come home and all you get is a tired body with a dead brain.

      But thanks for the recommendations man. I’ll keep them in mind!

Go ahead, feel important

